top of page

Classroom Environment v.2

Wednesday January 30th: (518 days since v.1)

It's 24 degrees outside, snow flurries last night, I'm hoping for more tonight.

12:14 PM, Advanced Digital Art class is in full swing.

The empty, cold, sterile of 518 days ago is LONG gone. Cold inside, warm inside.

Students are working, learning, creating.

I love my classroom. I love the space and the environment that it creates. It is usually very busy, very loud, and very warm. Thirty computers on 10 tables, nine art tables, and [almost] sixty stools crowd the room. Thirty students give the room life.

The life is here. The students question why I am having other students take pictures of the class. They question why I am taking notes as I move around the room. They move around the room. They have a large art project due tomorrow so students are working on various devices, media, and stations around the room. Organized chaos.

I teach digital art at the middle school level but I have a lot of analog art that we create as well. I teach two main courses, one focusing on Photoshop and the other is a choice based approach to digital art exploration. I have roughly 165 students throughout the day, every day, for a semester at a time. Being middle school students, these students are clumsy, smelly, and hilarious. I have always thought of my classroom as an organic being. The students and I bring it to life while we create and move through and around it.

So what has changed in the last 518 days:

- my student numbers have gone up (Amazon has moved in and our district numbers are on the rise, meaning increased classroom sizes)

- my students (especially in the Advanced Digital Art class) are beginning to focus more on meaning making and finding their artistic voice

- collaboration happens more organically, this doesn't become a forced "grouping" but instead evolves through the class as students specialize and report to each other.

- technology has evolved as well, both the technology I have access to and the ones that I am allowing students to bring in and utilize while we work

- the art and artists shown in and around my room have become much more intentional, after doing inventory of the artwork hung in my room, I noticed they didn't match my ideas so I reworked what was on my walls

- student ownership, I have attempted to give up control of pieces of my art room, student led exercises, peer collaboration, and independent assignments outside the curriculum mean I have less control but the students learn and interact more


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page