top of page

3 Goals : An Observation Reflection


At my school, I am lucky enough to have a Teaching Coach that I can block out a time to meet with. Kim Hartman worked as an amazing high school English teacher until she transitioned into this job and as a new teacher, I have made good use of her expertise. On more that one occasion, she has helped me through some difficult teaching problems and someday we plan on writing a book together. On what? Maybe it isn't quite certain. So when I needed to find someone to observe, critique, and generally belittle my teaching, there was no one else I would rather trust.

 

Goal 1: Something that is working - Differentiation

Continue to create an environment of Individual learning.

In my Advanced Digital Art class, I try to make it a point to give my students structure that then gives them the tools to create their own works within that structure. The class period that Kim observed showed this to its fullest. We saw students working together, in groups, and in class discussion. We saw students getting feedback from me, classmates, and self reflecting. Each student was working on their own artwork and each artwork was very different from each other in medium and content. For an ex-English teacher, Kim saw what a writing workshop could be in an artmaking context. She loved it.

Goal 2: Something that needs work - Management

Tighten up Classroom Management systems within my class.

I've heard this phrase from multiple people observing my classes. "Most of the students appear to be on task even if they're a little loud." While it is meant as a compliment (usually), it also brings up something that can use a little work within my "environment of learning." While I am okay with my art room being a little louder than a math classroom (It's called collaboration!), I am not okay with having to talk over students in the hopes of getting heard. I am still working on distinguishing the line between collaboration and talking with my classes. I need to make sure that the framework and scaffolding retains its looseness for differentiation but tightens up to include high expectations. In a reading from D. Darts I saw the end product of what I want my courses to work towards. Darts made sure to construct extensive scaffolding to help the students succeed in all aspects of the project. He created “comprehensive curricular framework that outlined the students' responsibilities and delineated our expectations and criteria for success.” (p.8) 1 This framework gave specific expectations for research, planning, delivering, and assessing. This mini lesson on how to be a teacher, gave students the freedom to create their own thing within the confines of a step-by-step tutorial. This structure gave expectations while retaining immense differentiation.

Goal 3: Something that needs changed - Balance

Span the weird discrepancy between Digital Art 1 and Advanced Digital Art and find the balance between the two.

As I was talking with Kim about which course she was going to observe and scheduling out our time, I noticed a weird discrepancy between my Digital Art 1 and my Advanced Digital Art classes. The two classes are built completely different on purpose. Digital Art 1 introduces Photoshop and gives a lot of introductory information. Advanced Digital Art introduces Big Ideas and is more choice based. That's on purpose. I noticed, however, that whenever I had to write or talk about something dealing with rules and regulations (OTES & RESA) I would rely on Digital Art 1. If I needed to write about something theory based (NAEA & OSU), I would rely on Advanced Digital Art. I've realized that my theory kinda stinks in Digital Art 1 and my structures aren't as good as I want them to be in Advanced Digital Art. I need to find that balance. I need to be able to introduce more theory, earlier in Digital Art 1. I should be able to base everything in things I am excited about while retaining the structure. While the division between the two courses can still be distinct, I believe I can locate a balance between the two.

 

Post-Observation sub note: I have amazing students.

 

1 Darts, D. (2006). “Art education for a change: Contemporary issues and the visual arts” Art Education, 6-12.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page